MINUTES

of

The Annual Meeting
of New Romney Town Council
held in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, New Romney on
Monday 14th May 2018 commencing at 6.00 pm

PRESENT: The Right Worshipful the Mayor of New Romney,

Councillor P J Coe

Town Ward Councillors:

Mrs P S Rolfe, Mrs E Gould, A Rodriguez, R D Tillson and J Cramp

Coast Ward Councillors:

Mrs P Metcalfe, Ms P Snoad, D M Stedham, P D Thomas, J D Picco and P W Carey

Town Clerk:Mrs C NewcombePlanning Clerk:Mrs M WorfAmenities Clerk:Miss A WilliamsClerical Assistant:Mrs S HallMayor's Sergeant:Mr S WoolgarTown Sergeant:Mrs C T MorrisIn Attendance:The Bishop of Dover,

The Reverend Trevor Willmott

Reverend Julie Coleman Invited Guests and Dignitaries

(approx 40)

IN THE CHAIR Councillor P J Coe

PRAYERS

Reverend Julie Coleman opened the proceedings with prayers.

@06.05pm the formal business of the Annual Meeting of the Council then commenced.

001/2018-19 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL AND TOWN</u> MAYOR FOR THE ENSUING YEAR

The Mayor called for nominations for Town Mayor and Chairman of the Council and it was

PROPOSED BY: Councillor Tillson SECONDED BY: Councillor Picco

That Councillor P J Coe be re-elected to the office of Chairman of the Council and Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

There were no other nominations.

The Proposer and Seconder spoke in favour of the nomination and after putting the matter to the vote it was :

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor P J Coe be and is hereby elected Chairman of New Romney Town Council and Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

Councillor Coe read and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office to observe the Council's Code of Conduct and to fulful his role to the best of his ability.

Councillor Coe then took the Oath of Allegiance and the Official Oath. He gave thanks for his re-election to office and received the messages of congratulations from the Town Clerk.

002/2018-19 <u>ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL AND DEPUTY</u> TOWN MAYOR

The Mayor called for nominations for Vice-Chairman and Deputy Mayor and it was:

PROPOSED BY: Councillor Picco SECONDED BY: Councillor Tillson

That Councillor Mrs P S Rolfe be re-elected Vice-Chairman of the Council and Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

There were no other nominations.

The Proposer and Seconder spoke in favour of the nomination and after putting the matter to the vote it was :

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – That Councillor Mrs P S Rolfe is hereby elected Vice-Chairman of the Council and Deputy Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

Councillor Mrs Rolfe read and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office to observe the Council's Code of Conduct and to fulfil her role to the best of her ability.

Councillor Mrs Rolfe then took the Oath of Allegiance and the Official Oath. She gave thanks for her re-election to office and received the messages of congratulations from the Town Clerk.

003/2018-19 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Miss J M Hiscock and Councillor Ms S Govett for personal reasons.

It was

PROPOSED BY: Councillor Mrs Metcalfe
SECONDED BY: Councillor Miss P Snoad and

RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY – that reasons for absence, as detailed above, be approved.

004/2018-19 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

There were no Declarations of Interest

005/2018-19 **CONFIRMATION OF SERGEANTS-AT-MACE**

The Mayor and Chairman called for confirmation of the Town Sergeant's willingness to continue in post for the ensuing year and confirmation was received and noted.

He then called for confirmation of the Mayor's Sergeant willingness to continue in post for the ensuing year and confirmation was received and noted.

006/2018-19 CONFIRMATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF POSITION AS TOWN MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor advised that he was pleased to confirm that Reverend Julie Coleman had been asked and had agreed to continue to act as the Mayor's Chaplain for the ensuing year. He thanked Reverend Coleman for her willingness to continue in this role.

007/2018-19 CONFIRMATION AND APPROVAL OF STANDING COMMITTEES

The Schedule of the Composition of Standing Committees for 2018-19, which had been previously circulated to all Councillors, was received and noted.

Having duly considered the make-up of Committee Membership for 2018-19 as detailed therein it was

PROPOSED BY: Councillor Mrs Rolfe
SECONDED BY: Councillor Thomas and

RESOLVED - That the composition of Town Council Committees for 2018-19, as detailed in the aforementioned previously circulated schedule, be approved.

008/2018-19 PRESENTATION OF KALC (KENT ASSOCIATION OF LOCAL COUNCILS) COMMUNITY AWARD

The Mayor and Chairman invited Mr Nigel Whitburn, Vice-President of KALC (Kent Association of Local Councils) to present the KALC Community Award to Mr David and Mrs Sherrie Harris in recognition of their continued service to the Royal British Legion.

009/2018-19 NEXT ORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

The Mayor and Chairman announced that the next ordinary meeting of the Council would take place on Wednesday 16 May 2018 at 6.45pm in the Council Chamber, at which Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees and Representatives on Outside Bodies would be appointed.

010/2018-19 **CLOSURE OF THE MEETING – 6.35pm**

The Mayor announced that the formal business of the Meeting had now been concluded and declared the meeting closed at 6.29pm.

The Mayoral party retired to the Mayor's Parlour to disrobe and prepare to depart for the Mayor's Reception.

Councillor Ms Snoad then introduced guest speakers Mr and Mrs Harris of the Royal British Legion, who had been invited to give a short presentation to invited dignitaries and guests.

GUEST SPEAKERS

Mr and Mrs Harris addressed remaining Councillors, invited guests and members of the public on the subject of the Royal British Legion.

At the conclusion Councillor Ms Snoad thanked Mr and Mrs Harris for their interesting and informative presentation and requested that remaining Councillors and invited guests make their way to the Mayor's Reception.

Remaining Councillors, invited guests and members of the public left the Town Hall at approximately 7.00pm.

Minutes prepared by Planning Clerk